Chakra Reference Guide



1. Each of the centers of spiritual power in the human body, usually considered to be seven in number.

Chakra is an old Sanskrit word which literally translates to Wheel. The seven chakras belong to the subtle body, or the energetic body, that connects the physical world to the spiritual. Without diving too deep in detail, the chakras are spinning centers of life force that feed the body prana – or energy.
In the ideal setting, our 7 chakras are balanced and provide the physical body with a constant rate of prana. More often than not, certain chakras are hyper active, while others are blocked and sluggish – this leads to a number of issues, and virtually every ailment can be traced back to the movement and delivery of energy within our body.

Our goal with this article is to give you a basic understanding of your chakras, so that meditations centered around the awakening, opening, and balancing of your chakras can be given and understood.


1st Chakra – Root Chakra  (Muladhara)

Color: Red

Location: Perineum 

The Chakra closest to the earth. Its function is concerned with grounding and survival. This Chakra is associated with your legs, feet, bones, large intestine and adrenal glands. It controls your fight or flight response. Blockage may manifest as paranoia, fear, procrastination and defensiveness.



2nd chakra – Sacral Chakra  (Svadhishana)

Color: Orange 

Location: Between the base of spine and navel 

Concerned with emotion. This chakra represents earthly desire, pleasure, sexuality, procreation and creativity. Svadhishana is associated with your lower abdomen, kidneys, bladder, circulatory system and your reproductive organs and glands. Blockage may manifest as emotional problems, sexual guilt, and compulsive or obsessive behavior.



3rd chakra – Solar Plexus  (Manipura)

Color: Yellow

Location: Above the navel, in the solar plexus

 This is the center for your Will Power. Feelings of laughter, joy, personal power, and anger are associated with this center. Your sensitivity, ambition and ability to achieve are stored here. Associated with the digestive system, muscles, pancreas and adrenals. Blockage may manifest as anger, frustration, lack of direction or a sense of victimization.



4th chakra – Heart  (Anahata)

Color: Green

Location: Center of your Chest (Heart Center)

It is the center of love, compassion, harmony and peace, as well as the home of the soul. This chakra is associated with your lungs, heart, arms, hands and thymus gland. Blockage can show itself as immune system, lung and heart problems, or manifest as inhumanity, lack of compassion or unprincipled behavior.



5th Chakra – Throat  (Vishuddha)

Color: Blue

Location: Throat

 The chakra of communication, creativity, self-expression and judgement. It is concerned with the senses of inner and outer hearing, the synthesizing of ideas, healing, transformation and purification. Associated with your neck, shoulders, arms, hands, thyroid and parathyroid glands.  Blockage can show up as creative blocks, dishonesty or general problems with communication.



6th Chakra – The Third Eye (Ajna)

Color: Indigo 

Location: Center of the brow

 This Chakra is the home of extra sensory perception, intuition, and psychic energy. The tool of vision between the physical and spiritual realms. It is the Chakra of question, perception and knowing. It is concerned with inner vision, intuition and wisdom. Blockage may manifest as problems with lack of foresight, mental rigidity, ‘selective’ memory and depression.



7th Chakra – Crown  (Sahaswara)

Color: Violet

Location: Top of the head extending down to the eyes (picture it as a knit cap)

The seat of Universal energy. This chakra connects you to the energy of the universe. It is said to be the place of connection to God, the chakra of Divine purpose and personal destiny. Blockage of this chakra is normal, and manifests as the human condition.

As we begin to dive into our meditations focused on the opening and balancing of your energy centers, keep this reference guide handy!

– Kyle


Leave a Reply